And They Said Blondes Have More Fun

Life is all about making quick, dramatic, drastic, crazy decisions and hoping you do not regret it in the morning. The other night, me and my friends got up the courage to dye our hair. Well, correction; we got up the courage to highlight each other’s hair. So while I was at work, they brought four boxes our permanent hair color and we had a girl’s night. I have been known to cut and do whatever else I want to my hair because it always grows back. I had been wanting a touch of color for a long time but never got enough courage to do it. Every natural that I know talked about how much dye damaged their hair and made it rough and brittle and in the end had to be cut off. So we opted out of bleaching our hair because we knew that would definitely add to the damage and instead applied the dye to our natural hair. In order to get the desired look, we stretched out hair and then did a blow out. Even though, we were washing our hair right after; we wanted to get all of the hair and it would be hard to do on my short coils. We followed the directions step by step and then waited for lord knows how long because we were occupied with other girl’s night activities. 🙂

Needless to say, our hair turned out great. I used Creme of Nature in an orange copper and they had Dark in lovely in a red and red copper. Mine turned out the brightest.
20141126_001250
20141126_000927
While their’s had a faint tint of the color.
20141125_230606

I was shocked at first that mine took so well because it was so bright without even bleaching it. At first I felt like Sisqo. I was like this is more orange/gold then it is red. What am I going to do with this flame on my head but then it sort of grew on me and I realized we hadn’t done a second wash on it. After the festivities were over, the next day I decided to cut, curl and style it. The color faded a little and I fell in love.
This is how it looks without the flash.
New color
And the rest are with the flash. My hair was soft and my ends were not really damaged but I love to cut my hair. My curls fell fast and did not hold heat well because my hair is still not used to being straight but it lasted for going on three days.
New color
New color
New color
In order to keep up my hair during the holidays, I just put in flexi rods and some perm rods every night. I only put perm rods around my hair on the edges so it isn’t being pulled to tight or too far away. Here is my hair the next day.
20141126_195933
20141126_193731
Unfortunately I did not have my camera with me, so I had to settle on using my phone. But the next day I kept it semi curly and unruly and put it in a huge bun.
SAM_4065

I did repeat the same night-time process but I’ll be keeping the perm rods in until classes start back up on Tuesday. I have noticed that my scalp is dry but it always has been so I’ve been adding more oil to my scalp. When it is finally time to wash I will be doing a deep conditioning treatment and sitting under a hood dryer that my friend has. Hopefully it will spring life back into my curls and will keep them from drying out. I will also do an oil rinse but not an acv because I fear it might change my color or something weird. I glad this was not such a disaster because I was scared of it turning out that way. I am also glad that my soon to be hubby liked it because it he’d have to deal with this until it fades. Hopefully the color is still around for the wedding. I cannot wait to see what the colored natural life has in store for me. Maybe my next color will be daring….
Happy Nappy

Leave a Reply

