Lost & Found

I found this photo of my niece and fell in love with it all over again. With everything going on in the world and media, I have been struggling with being a black girl. Knowing that the world is against you or doesn’t see your value, hurts and scares you a lot. This picture made me cry. Right now she is clueless to what the world might have in store for her. Right now her biggest problem is making friends in class and mastering the skill of bike riding. Right now she’s a care free black girl and I want her to remain this way. I want her to love being a black girl. So it’s 2016 and I vow to be a shining example of what it means to be a strong, carefree,magical black girl. (cause we are magic if you didn’t know). I never want her to doubt, hate, hide, or fear being a black girl. I want her to stand firmly in her light and her truth. I want her to always walk with her head held high, radiant and bold and proud of who she is. This picture just reminded of my own strength and magic. This was exactly what I needed. I’m back and better than ever. #carefreeblackgirl
Happy Nappy

http://writteninlove-coveredinbeauty.tumblr.com/post/92778671408/writteninlove-coveredinbeauty-i-hope-the-world

One Comment Add yours

  1. kelley says:

    Beautiful! We all need to be teaching our daughters this and leading by example.

    Like

Leave a Reply

